Advantages of Ugliness.

Standard

Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, but actually it is the prefrontal cortex of our brain that determines who we find suitable as a mate, i.e, who we would produce evolutionarily  strong off-springs with. On the general spectrum of attractiveness, the majority of us fall somewhere in the middle but for an exceptional group of humans, like me, our DNA chooses to enforce the saying : beauty comes from the inside. In other words, I’m not attractive…I’m cute, cute like a sea-lion or walrus. Cute because I’m awkward and my face does weird things in the name of expression. Mean people have sometimes called me ugly as well, but my mother says I’m beautiful- so it must be true (not).

People think that ugliness is a curse, but on the contrary, it’s a blessing in disguise. I mean, sometimes I do wish I had a smaller nose or thicker hair but mostly I’m fine with being this way. Being ugly is a self-esteem enhancer in the sense that, anyone who likes you doesn’t do so because you’re “pretty”. They do it because they like your personality, because they like the quirks and the eccentricities that make you who you are. Being ugly teaches you the value of knowledge and makes you see beyond your reflection…it makes you appreciate the aesthetic of common things, the charm of everyone around you.  I get a wicked jolt of ecstasy every time I think that when the calendars will change and wrinkles will rise…what will the shallow promoters of skin-deep beauty do? Botox , maybe. Be confident because you’re more than just an asymmetrical face: you are a soul, probably an awesome person too.

So enjoy ugliness. Be ugly. High School will end and prettiness will fade, but you’ll still have that sexy box called ‘brain’.

Leave a Reply

